Young cricketers receive their awards

Joseph Bulmer

ONE hundred and sixty young players, their parents and supporters from across the North Devon district gathered for the North Devon Youth Cricket Association’s 2011 awards night.

Awards were presented by Matt Theedom, Devon cricket development manager.

The evening ended with a mass photograph of the winners with North Devon’s two new England U19 players, Jamie and Craig Overton.

District Teams: U9 - best bat Jack Moore; team player, Ollie Hannam. U10 - best bat, Jack Moore; team player, Billy Gubb. U11 - best bowlers (shared) Tom Moody and Edward Parry; team player, Lewis Williams. U12 - best bat, Alex Hannam; best bowler, Alex Marden; team player, Tom Brend. U13 - team player, Callum Mitchell. U14 - best bat, Barney Meadowcroft; best bowler, Dan Fogerty; team player, Tom Pengelly. U15 - best bat, Billy Searle; best bowler, Dan Crocombe; team player, Luke Ansell.

League winners were: U10 – winners, Bideford; ru, North Devon; best bat, Peter Hipkin (Bideford); best bowler, Olly Hannam (Bideford). U11 - winners Filleigh; ru Newton Tracey; best bat, Harry Wilson-Palmer (Filleigh); best bowler, Billy Gubb (Newton Tracey). U13 – winners, Braunton; ru, Bideford; best bat Sam Lathwell (Braunton); best bowler, Tom Gidney (Chulmleigh). U15 – winners, Hatherleigh; ru, Filleigh; best bats, Dan Barratt (Bideford) and Jack Hayman (Hatherleigh); best bowler, Sam Witheridge (Filleigh).

Recognition was also given to those young players who gained county and national honours.

County: U10 - Oliver Hannam, Billy Gubb, Jack Moore. U11 - Jack Gibbs, Carl Stanbury. U12 - Alex Hannam. U13 - Sam Lathwell, Alfie Huxtable. U13 girls - Millie Squire, Lauren Bowden. U14 - Jack Brazier, Barney Meadowcroft. U15 - Luke Ansell, Billy Searle, Dan Crocombe. U15 girls - Alli Kelly, Annabel Squire, Catherine Mitcham, Emily Ward (Capt), Anna Cherrington. U16 - Jack Popham, Paul Heard, Jack Cherrington. U17 - Max Curtis, Tom Ansell, Harry Booker. U17 girls – Claire Reynolds, Frances Lausen. U19 - Barney Huxtable. Devon Lions - Max Curtis, Harry Booker, Barnie Huxtable.

Devon Seniors - Jamie Overton, Craig Overton

National: England U19 - Jamie Overton, Craig Overton.