Wooly cup win breaks Wrey hoodoo

Joseph Bulmer

Woolacombe & Mortehoe win Arlington Cup and silence rivals

WOOLACOMBE and Mortehoe put in their best performance of the season to beat Wrey Arms in the final of the Arlington Cup on Saturday night.

George Gwynn’s side looked like winners from the first whistle as they set out to strike gold in their third cup final since returning to the league in 2007-08.

And they rarely looked back after Andrew Woodman latched onto Mark Turner’s through ball and coolly stroked the ball under the keeper with his left foot 25 minutes into the match.

Woolacombe went two-up after the break when man-of-the-match Turner planted a glancing header in the bottom corner after Alex Boyde crossed in from the left.

Howard Dennis put the game out of reach with a delightful 25-yard free-kick that looped up and over the wall and left the keeper rooted to the spot.

Simon Larcombe pulled a late consolation goal back for the Wrey, but with so little time left and so much still to do, the cheers were somewhat muted. In fact you’d have heard a pin drop at Marlborough Park were it not for the ironic blast of a lone air horn.

The real noise came at the sound of the final whistle as Woolacombe got their hands on the trophy they’d previously won in 1937, 1984 and 1985.

Wrey manager Dave Loder conceded that his side was “well beaten by a very good Woolacombe team”.

Despite their disappointment, there was little rust evident in Wrey Arms’ second cup final of the bank holiday weekend just 36-hours later.

Instead they put in a polished performance to retain the Hansen Cup with a 3-0 win against Northside Atlantic at Vicarage Field with goals by Dan Dayman and Joe Gillard (2).