Winsford ‘Voysey’ building opens its doors

Joseph Bulmer

Opening of former cottage hospital will offer members of the public a glimpse into the past

THE former Winsford Cottage Hospital, now the Winsford Centre at Halwill Junction, Beaworthy, will be open to the public on Saturday, September 10 for a glimpse into its past.

The Winsford Trust is opening the 111 year old Grade II* listing building as part of the national Heritage Open Days run by English Heritage.

A unique product of the Arts and Crafts movement, it was commissioned in 1899 by a local benefactress as a gift to the parishes of North Devon and is the only building designed by CFA Voysey in public ownership.

The Winsford Centre will be open free to the public from 11am-3pm, with tours on offer to tell of its past. Find out more at

Things To Do