YOUNG surfers from North Devon battled it out on the waves at the Calypso British Schools Surfing Championships at Widemouth Bay.

Among some of the region’s top junior surfers were representatives of Pilton, West Buckland, Ilfracombe and Braunton schools and colleges.

Braunton Academy just missed out on the Inter Schools Trophy, coming second to winners Bude Haven, with Newquay Tretherass Academy in third.

Competitors also battled for ranking points on the UK Pro Surf Tour and towards Great Britain squad selection.

Longboard titles went to Ben Bates from Jersey and Emily Currie from Bude. In the U14s shortboard, Harry de Roth from St Ives battled through to take the crown. Emily Currie also made it into the U16s girls shortboard and U18s girls shortboard finals, a standout performance that went a long way towards Bude’s eventual team victory.

Braunton’s Peony Knight paddled out on the opening day in two to three foot onshore surf, returning to shore 20 minutes later with the highest heat score of the day on her way to victory in the girls’ U16s.

Lucy Campbell from Braunton laid it all on the line for her team, bravely casting aside crutches designed to support a broken foot and making the finals of the U18s girls, a courageous effort that came close to clinching a Braunton victory.

But it was Bude’s Miles-Lee Hargreaves and team mate Jobe Harriss who put the icing on the cake for their team, taking the first and second place spots in the boys U18s and the overall winners trophy for their school.

U16 Girls: 1 Peony Knight; 2 Ellen Harding; 3 Flora Lawton; 4 Emily Currie.

U18 Girls: 1 Ellen Harding; 2 Flora Lawton; 3 Lucy Campbell; 4 Emily Currie.

U14 Boys: 1 Harry De Roth; 2 Angus Scotney; 3 Will Bailey; 4 Max Payne.

U16 Boys: 1 Angus Scotney; 2 Ben Bates; 3 Dale Foster; 4 Liam Murray Strout.

U18 Boys: 1 Miles Lee Hargreaves; 2 Jobe Harris; 3 Rhys Barfield; 4 Angus Scotney.

U18 Girls Longboard: 1 Emily Currie; 2 Lucy Howell; 3 Maisie Marshall; 4 Jenna Richards.

U18 Boys Longboard: 1 Ben Bates; 2 Connor Griffiths; 3 Raife Gaskell; 4 Isaac Marshall.