Hundreds of people descended on Bideford on Sunday for a 10k run in the sun.

More than 700 runners descended on Bideford for the Amateur Athletic Club’s annual 10k.

The event was a huge success for the club – and not just because it was their most well-subscribed.

Seven Bideford runners finished inside the overall top 10, and seven won their respective categories.

First to cross the line was Bideford’s Ronnie Richmond, who finished in a time of 33mins 09secs.

He was followed by clubmate Andrew Ingle, who came in second with a time of 33mins 44secs.

Third place went to Torbay’s Lee Turner, who clocked a time of 34mins 12secs.

The fastest female to cross the line was Tiverton Harrier Serane Stone, who completed the event in 37mins 27secs.

Eevee-May Banbury was the next female to cross the line with a time of 40mins 01secs to win the U20 category.

Cornwall Athletic Club’s Kathryn Burgess was third fastest, crossing the line in 40mins 37secs.

The race saw competitors run from Bideford Quay to Instow on the road, before heading back on the Tarka Trail to the finish line.

There were category firsts for Bideford Runners Jo Bedler (41mins 40secs), Gary Suggate (36mins 48secs), Martin Colwill (36mins 54secs), Lorraine Clements (46mins 13secs), Michael Gilmore (1hr 00mins 42secs) and Eric Hubber (1hr 03mins 53secs).