NORTH Devon golfers stole the limelight by providing both teams in the final of the county Palairet Trophy competition. In a nailbiting final Torrington came from behind to take the trophy which had been denied them on three previous attempts, winning 3-2

NORTH Devon golfers stole the limelight by providing both teams in the final of the county Palairet Trophy competition.In a nailbiting final Torrington came from behind to take the trophy which had been denied them on three previous attempts, winning 3-2 against the Libbaton club, in the final for the first time in its 20-year history.Libbaton started strongly, with Steve Herniman and Peter Short (receiving five shots) beating Jack Stevenson and Steve Schofield 2 and 1 and Ron Screech and Brian Stevens (receiving two) beating Peter Stevenson and Mark Hill 2 and 1. But Torrington fought back with Ron Greenslade and Paul Wheeler (receiving one) beating Jeremy Shapland and Rob Barker 4 and 3 and Gary Petherbridge and Tony Gooch (receiving one) winning 1 up against Jason Middleton and Sam Raymont to level the match.In all hinged on the last hole of the last match, with Mike McLeod and Mike Coles beating Chris Drew and Andy Tucker to give Torrington the trophy. Libbaton picked up the Horsley Cup.Club champion THE 2008 Club Champion at the Royal North Devon Golf Club is Mark Evans after he beat Tim Coates at the 20th in the matchplay final to win the Reid Cup at the club's August meeting.Brian Cook returned a net 67 to win the Veterans' Cup and the over-70s trophy in the Veterans Medal. Evergreen John Phillips returned a net 78 to take the over 80s cup. Ian Johnston hit form in difficult conditions to return a net 67 and win the President's Prize medal event. Mark Evans took the scratch prize with a gross 73. Sean Downing returned a net 63 to finish first in the junior medal. He also won the George Tuplin Trophy. Jimmy Mullen was the winner in the scratch event and Trapnell Salver with a score of 73. Stephanie Finlan finished first in the handicap 29-54 category after she returned a net 69. Sean Downing was the winner in the 0-28 category.Veterans Cup: 1, Brian Cook 67; 2, David Palmer 69; 3, John Eland 71; 4, Norwood Cripps 71; 5, Hugh Bone 71. Presidents Prize: Handicap - 1, Ian Johnston 67; 2, Graham Buckley 68; 3, Chris Brown 70; 4, Ollie Tanton 71; 5, Mark Evans 72; 6, Peter Brummitt 72. Scratch - 1, Mark Evans 73; 2, Chay Hughes 76; 3, Ian Johnston 77.Junior Medal: Scratch - 1, Jimmy Mullen 73; 2, Nick Keen 73; 3, Sean Downing 75. Handicap (0-28) - 1, Sean Downing 63; 2, Josh Coles 65; 3, Jimmy Mullen 67. Handicap (29-54) - 1, Stephanie Finlan 69; 2, Tom Barton 73; 3, Sam Found 79.Four Ball Team Stableford: 1, Chris Hampton, Mike Jones, Jimmy Mullen and Michael Jones 76; 2, Ian Greaves, N Spackmen, John Taylor and A Tye 73; 3, Josie Richards, Tony Allin, Tony Richards and Tom Loka 70; 4, Dale Tanton, Ahmet Mutlu, Billy Mullen and Michael Townshend 70. Nine trophies for SueROYAL North Devon ladies' two-day open attracted golfers from across the country, with visitors from Surrey, Newquay, Oxford and Burnham and Berrow joining members from the local clubs.The most successful competitor was Sue Vicary who took advantage of playing on her home ground. She won nine trophies during the competition.Club president Richard Sainsbury also rewarded Sue with the President's Prize after she finished the competition with the best aggregate score of 145. Georgina Snow, the star on the opening day, took home two trophies and Lindy Sainsbury also secured a double on the opening day.Winner of the Venerable Veterans Medal Jo Trapnell was another of the club's members to secure more than one title. On day two she also took first place in the Bronze Handicap.Jan Hurst was also a double winner, finishing first in the Bronze Scratch and Rabbits Paw Bronze.Silver Challenge Bowl: Scratch - 1, Georgina Snow 78; 2, Elizabeth Bird 79; 3, Michelle Burgess 82. Handicap - 1, Sue Vicary 72; 2, Wendy Stone 73; 3, Val Cook 75; 4, Jillian Evans 76.Bronze: Scratch - 1, Lindy Sainsbury 97; 2, Pam Need 102; 3, Jan Hurst 102. Handicap - 1, Ruth Horn 78; 2, Margaret Cracknell 78; 3, Mary Harris 80; 4, Angie Gale 81.Gold Medal: Georgina Snow. Silver Medal: Sue Vicary 80.Mary Trapnell Salver: Lindy Sainsbury 97.Elspeth Tyreman Cup: Sue Vicary 72. Visitors Best Medal: Julie McCairns (Oxford) 76. Veterans Medal: Sue Talloh 77. Venerable Veterans Medal: Jo Trapnell 82. 1st Nine Silver: Anne Clarke 36. 2nd Nine Silver: Susan Hall 37. 1st Nine Bronze: Diane Weston 37. 2nd Nine Bronze Anne Mayne 39.5.Afternoon Foursomes: 1, R Caunt and M Finlay 36; 2, M Burgess and e Bird 34; 3, S Webster and P Crosthwaite 33. Trish Johnson Trophy: 1, Sue Vicary 81; 2, Michelle Burgess 84; 3, Julie McCairns 84. Silver Handicap: 1, Maggie Finlay 73; 2, Anna Wright 74; 3, Jillian Evans 74; 4, Trish Jordan 74. Bronze: Scratch - 1, Jan Hurst 98; 2, Rita Macaulay Black 99; 3, Mary Wilson 99. Handicap - 1, Jo Trapnell 76; 2, Margaret Purdie 77; 3, Angie Gale 79; 4, Mary Harris 80. Visitors Best Medal: 1, Rose Kirkham (Saunton) 80. Veterans Medal: 1, Kate Brown 79; 2, Lesley Crossley. V Veterans Medal: Betty Stephens 94.1st Nine Silver: Heather Gale 36.5. 2nd Nine Silver: Sam Bowrey 35.5. 1st Nine Bronze: Ruth Horn 37.5. 2nd Nine Bronze: Margaret Ellicott 38.Yarde Buller Cup: Sue Vicary 72.Open Gross 125 Salver (Youngman Salver): Silver - Sue Vicary 161. Bronze - Jan Hurst 200.Sandercock Cups, members gross aggregate: Tigers Claw Silver - Sue Vicary 161. Rabbits Paw Bronze - Jan Hurst 200. Centenary Trophy: Sue Vicary 145. Professionals prize, short hole aggregate: Sue Vicary 25.Simon's weekIT was a good week for Simon Calvert at Ilfracombe Golf Club, with first place in the scratch and second in the handicap of one of the club's most prestigious competitions, the Woodward Memorial trophy. He also finished third in the Thursday Stableford.Woodward Memorial Trophy: Scratch - 1, Simon Calvert 71 gross; 2, Paul Richards 71; 3, Neil Braund 74. Handicap - 1, Brian Young 62net; 2, Simon Calvert 63; 3, Tracey Davison 63.