Week two of the Stay in Devon North Devon Cricket League saw Division 1 new boys Barnstaple and Pilton spring a surprise by beating reigning champions Bideford by six wickets on their own patch.

Bideford batted first and were bundled out for 171 in 42.3 overs. The top home score was 41 by both George Laing and Dan Barrett, while the total was also boosted by an 18-ball cameo knock that produced an unbeaten 25 from Fred King at number 10. George McEndoo (3-23) and Tom Popham (3-29) were the main wicket takers. Young McEndoo then carried his bat through to the win being confirmed, with an unbeaten 71. Fellow opener Andrew Barton made 35, while Martin Stewart took 2-41.

There was no play in the other scheduled top flight game, with the weather putting paid to the Hatherleigh versus Sandford match.

Kelseymen endured mixed fortunes in their opening double-header weekend.

They started their Division 4 season with a 46 run home win over North Devon III on Saturday. Batting first, they were bowled out for 149, with Mark Johnson (43) and Gary Brooke (27) the principle run providers. Tim Cooke was the architect-in-chief of the host’s low score as he claimed 6-37.

North Devon were then bundled out for just 103, with all five of the young Kelseymen bowling attack - all aged 16 or under - claiming wickets. Dan Crowcombe topped the list with 3-16, the others were Alfie Huxtable (2-11), Sam Lathwell (2-22), Jason Lathwell (2-27) and Callum Mitchell (1-24).

Next day Kelseymen entertained Petrockstowe, who departed with a three wicket win in a low scoring affair. Dave Cresswell (19) and Joe Barnes (15) were the only batsmen to make much of an inroad as Kelseymen were hustled out for 77. Nigel Cockwill (3-12), Brendon Harris (3-16) and Lee Cockwill (2-5) were the main wicket takers. Lee Cockwill then struck 41 and Ian Cockwill chipped in with an unbeaten 14 as the visitors scraped home with just three wickets to spare. Darren Hawkings (2-9) and Bruce Peterson (2-13) were the principle wicket takers for Kelseymen.

Filleigh II made a wining start in Division 4 with an eight wicket win over visiting Ilfracombe.

Simon Proctor and Godfrey Tucker both claimed three wicket hauls as the visitors were restricted to 143-8. Rob Collier then led the successful run chase with 83no and Simon Prideaux weighed in with 36. There was also an unbeaten 11 from 15-year-old McCauley Harrison-Hooton, who earlier kept wicket impeccably, not conceding a single bye.

Division 1:

Bideford 171 (G Laing 41, D Barrett 41, F King 25no; G McEndoo 3-23, T Popham 3-29), Barnstaple and Pilton 174-4 (G McEndoo 71no, A Barton 35; M Stewart 2-41). Barnstaple and Pilton (20pts) bt Bideford (4) by 6 wickets.

Hatherleigh versus Sandford: No play rain.

Division 2:

Shebbear versus Heathcoat. No play rain.

Division 4:

Sat: Kelseymen 149 (M Johnson 43, G Brooke 27; T Cooke 6-37), North Devon III 103 (S Witheridge 21; D Crowcombe 3-16, A Huxtable 2-11, S Lathwell 2-22, Jason Lathwell 2-27). Kelseymen (20pts) bt North Devon III (6) by 46 runs.

Sun: Kelseymen 77 (D Cresswell 19, J Barnes 15; N Cockwill 3-12, B Harris 3-16, L Cockwill 2-5), Petrockstowe 81-7 (L Cockwill 41, I Cockwill 14no; B Peterson 2-13, D Hawkins 2-9). Petrockstowe (20pts) bt Kelseymen (7) by 3 wkts.

Division 5:

Sat: Ilfracombe 143-8 (S Proctor 3-30, G Tucker 3-35), Filleigh II 145-2 (R Collier 83no, S Prideaux 36, M Harrison-Hooton 11no). Filleigh (20pts) bt Ilfracombe (2) by 8 wkts.

Sun: Filleigh versus Dulverton – No play rain.