North Devon Gazette Football League sides vote on new teams and awards made at end of season event

Six new teams have been voted into the North Devon Gazette Football League for the 2013/14 season.

Appledore gain a third team, while Merton and Woolacombe & Mortehoe will now field reserve teams after a vote at the league's AGM last night.

Two new teams will also grace the North Devon league for the first time, with Chivenor FC and Haxton Rangers entering teams.

Each of these five teams will join the Intermediate Two division, and the sixth new entry to the league, Morwenstow Reserves, will play in the Seniors league.

Morwenstow won the Hodgson Insurance Kingsley League last season, and take the place of Bude Town, who have withdrawn to join the Cornsh Guardian East Cornwall League.

The new additions will alter the league's set up slightly, with four divisions of sixteen teams - a departure from last season's 15-15-16-13 split.

But there was disappointment for FC United and Landkey Town Reserves, who missed out on the places up for grabs.

As well as the vote on league membership, awards were also handed out to the best referee and club secretary of the year.

Matthew Bufton won the Harold Bartlett trophy as the highest marked referee of the season, while Anita Balsdon of Bradworthy FC scooped the North Devon Gazette Football League Secretary of the Year trophy.