Barnstaple Town will be playing Southern League football next season after being handed a reprieve by the FA.

Allocations for the top six steps of the FA's National League System for the 2019/20 season were announced on Sunday.

Barum, who finished 19th in Evo-Stik Division One South last season, remain in the step four league due to the resignation of Street, who finished eighth.

It's the second season in a row that Barnstaple have been given a reprieve due to a withdrawal from the league. They finished second from bottom in 2017/18, but were saved by the resignation of Shortwood United.

Barnstaple Town manager Aaron Harper-Penman said it was a situation he didn't want to be in again.

"We're delighted - it's exactly what myself and everyone at the club wanted," he said.

"You don't want to go giving away that status if you get a lifeline, which it was for us.

"We are not going to dwell on it now. It's a bonus and we can really strive and look forward now which is exciting.

"That said, we put ourselves in that position over the course of the season, and it's one we don't want to be in again.

"We don't want to be in the same situation as this year, and there's no reason why we can't now push forward and try and get our highest ever finish."

There are four new teams joining Bideford and Barnstaple Town in Division One South next season.

Basingstoke Town drop into Division One South after being relegated from the Premier South, as do Frome Town.

Promoted into the league for 2019/20 are Toolstation Western League champions Willand Rovers, and Southampton-based Wessex Premier champions Sholing.

The new season will kick off on Saturday, August 17, a week after Emirates FA Cup extra preliminary round fixtures.

Evo-Stik Division One South 2019/20: AFC Totton, Barnstaple Town, Basingstoke Town, Bideford, Bristol Manor Farm, Cinderford Town, Cirencester Town, Evesham United, Frome Town, Highworth Town, Larkhall Athletic, Mangotsfield United, Melksham Town, Moneyfields, Paulton Rovers, Sholing, Slimbridge, Thatcham Town, Willand Rovers, Winchester City.