Both Bideford clubs were in action on the final day of racing on the water

The curtain came down on the WEARA Championship Regatta season at Dartmouth on Thursday, with Bideford's Reds and Blues rowing in the final regatta of the summer season.

After the final round of racing Bideford Blues came away with five championship titles, winning the ladies' senior C fours, men's masters fours, men's senior C fours, men's junior 16 quad sculls and the men's senior c single sculls.

On Thursday they had four race wins, with Nell Gierke and Hannah Evans winning the women's junior 17 double sculls. The juniors also had success in the men's junior 14 double sculls, with Toby Evans and Charlie Colwill placing first.

Colwill was part of the men's novice fours with Jasper Beer, James Jordan, Alex Dualibi-Wilson and cox Lorna Colwill which came first.

There was also a race win for the men's senior B four of Brian Andrew, Declan Monaghan, Alex and Nick Dualibi-Wilson and cox Charlie Colwill.

Bideford Reds had two wins at Dartmouth last Thursday with victories in both the men's and mixed Senior C coxed fours, with Steve Povey, Adam Bewes, John Highet and Theon Rogers just failing by half a point to clinch the Senior C title.

Remaining undefeated throughout the season was the mixed combination of Jess Giddy, Alex Rowland, Adam Bewes and Libbie Willis who recorded yet another win on the River Dart.

The men's Senior A crew of Jon Lamont, Luis Wilkins, Adam Curtis and Ross Bennett finished the season as runners up in the premier men's category, having to settle for third place behind Falmouth and Plymouth in the final race.

Attentions now turn to the South Coast Championship Regatta, which is held at the London 2012 venue Dorney Lake.

WEARA has selected three Reds crews, who will be in action in the senior A, B and C coxed four races.

The Blues will also be representing the West of England in the ladies' and men's senior C fours and the men's junior 16 quads.