Black Rock racers on the beach

The Black Rock Run along Woolacombe Sands was organised by Woolacombe Surf Life Saving Club on Friday.

The annual five kilometre race, sponsored by the Red Barn and St. Austell’s Brewery, took the 68 individual athletes and 11 teams on one of the most scenic of courses, along Woolacombe Sands to Black Rock and back to the Red Barn.

The men’s open race was won by Kevin Heywood of Bideford AAC in an exceptional time of 17mins 18secs

This put him more than a minute ahead of Jack Hutchens of North Devon Athletics Club, who was second in a time of 18.37. Third place was taken by Chris Sellens of Bideford AAC in 18.50.

The open women’s title was taken by Beth Barrington of the North Devon Road Runners in 22.41 followed by Jess Earp (22.55) and Keida Abram (23.42).

The men’s under 18 title went to Matt Bull of Woolacombe Surf Life Saving Club, who was also fifth overall in 20.10. Second was Niall Deasy and third Ryan Lark, both WSLSC.

Rebecca Challacombe (WSLSC) took the women’s under 18 crown in 27.22, with Georgia Bockley, Bella Penman-Owens and Maya Nardoni all crossing the line together in 43.10 to share joint second place.

Most Read

The race was part of the celebrations marking the 50th anniversary of Woolacombe Surf Life Saving Club.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter