The North Devon League has just drawn to a close, with Bideford Rifle Club members celebrating success.

Bideford Rifle Club A team has won back the North Devon Shooting League Division 1 title that they relinquished last year for the first time in eight years. They not only did so by a wide margin, but the Bideford B team finished as runner-up.

Bideford E team were runners-up in Division 3.

In the individual championships, there was a measure of disappointment, as

Pete Thomson lost his lead in the overall championship despite shooting a “ton” in the final round match, but his loss was to team-mate Martin Morgan’s gain, Martin winning by just one point. Pete, however, easily won the veterans’ championship.

Alex Raymont and Ben Morgan took first and second places on the juniors’ championship, while Ann Travis held her ladies’ title, with Yvonne Hoile in third place.

Final round results: Bideford A 395 (Pete Thomson 100, Ann Travis 100) beat Sidbury A 390;

Bideford B 385 lost to Tiverton A 388; Bideford C 384 beat Bideford D 375; Bideford 357 lost to Tiverton C 366; Bideford F 271 lost to Okehampton C 361.