Plans for new ‘Devonwall’ MP seat

Joseph Bulmer

Report says a new constituency should include Bideford, Torrington and Holsworthy plus Bude, Launceston and Camelford

A row was brewing as the Gazette went to press yesterday (Tuesday) over Boundary Commission proposals to create a new parliamentary seat based on Bideford and Bude, in Cornwall.

There have been protests in both counties about the creation of a so-called Devonwall seat in a boundary shake-up designed to cut the number of MPs from 650 to 500.

Boundary Commissioners justified the Bideford and Bude constituency by saying the A39 connected the two counties and provided a strong communication link along the north coast.

The present constituencies affected are Tory Geoffrey Cox’s Torridge and West Devon seat and North Cornwall, held by Lib-Dem Dan Rogerson.

In its report the Boundary Commission said a cross county constituency was !necessary” and added that it had endeavoured where possible to ensure equal numbers of electors from each county in the proposed new seat.