Only Newton now unbeaten

Joseph Bulmer

THERE were some strange results across the five divisions of the North Devon League this week, including two of the three remaining perfect records ended! Division Three leaders Weare Giffard, went down by seven wickets at North Devon II and, in Divisio

THERE were some strange results across the five divisions of the North Devon League this week, including two of the three remaining perfect records ended!

Division Three leaders Weare Giffard, went down by seven wickets at North Devon II and, in Division Five, there was the first loss of the season for leaders Petrockstowe, who were beaten by visiting Heathcoat II by a margin of 61 runs.

Non-playing Filleigh were nudged off top spot after Heathcoat beat Bideford to claim leadership of the First Division by just 0.2 of a point!

The Mid Devon side scored 196 with Ian Hayter taking 4-23. Bideford were in with a great chance of winning thanks to contributions from Andy Webbe (49), Josh King (40), Hayter (34no) and Matt Allin (33) but the final wicket was lost on 179.,

Victoria Park stay bottom of the top division after they were well beaten by visiting Morebath.

The Mid Devon side scored an imposing 301 and then bowled the hosts out for 152. High spots for Victoria Park were Mark Bettis claiming 4-58 and Colin Bettis top scoring with 37.

Newton Tracey are now the only side in the five divisions, to sport a 100 per cent record. They won a fifth game in five Division Two starts with an 83 run win at Barnstaple and Pilton.

Newton posted a healthy 245-9 and then bowled Barum out for 162. Richard Screech (60), Ian Gear (42), Paul Stewart (28) and Connor Nash (21no), all made contributions to the visitors total, while George McEndoo and James Rowe both claimed three wicket hauls for Barum. Frank Biederman top scored for the home side with 46 and Henry McEndoo 38, but Simon Gear (4-28) and Connor Nash (2-27), combined to see their side to another win.

Runs and catches

Third beat second at Shebbear where Beaford suffered their second defeat of the season.

Ollie Wickets led the home side to 266-7 with another century. In addition to his 119 he also held four catches in the post tea session. There were also solid contributions from James Starkey (56) and Martin Bray (40). Nigel Lake took 3-45 for Beaford who were then restricted to 172-9. Geoff Lake hit 32 no and Mark Lake 32. Ben Robarts bagged four wickets for the home side.

Holsworthy suffered an eighth defeat in as many outings when they were beaten by 114 runs at Hatherleigh. The home side scored 332-6, led by Andy Collier (64), Will Chapman (62) and Shane Dilling (50no). The visitors were then bundled out for 118 with Ian Cockwill and Steve Miles each bagging a brace of wickets.

Incorrigibles won by two wickets at Bratton Fleming. The home side laboured to 162-9, James Tapp top scoring with 38 and Graham Barrow chipping in with 34. Pick of the visiting bowlers was James Hope with 4-20 from 10 tidy overs. Ryan Bowden led the run chase with 36 and Chris Cole hit 25 while Oliver Hunt took 3-18 and Charles Brigden claimed 3-31.

Weare Giffard were beaten for the first time this term and lost top spot in Division Three to North Devon II, who beat them by seven wickets.

Martin Beer (24) and John Wittram (20no) were the principle scorers in the Weare Giffard total of 113. John Wainwright (4-23), Fergus O'Donnell (2-29) and Joe Kelly (2-12), were the wicket takers. Jamie Overton struck 48 while Tom Stanton played the anchor role with an unbeaten 19 to lead the hosts to a comfortable victory.

Barnstaple and Pilton II were beaten by four wickets at Sandford II, but they were in a position to win it themselves. Barum batted first and closed on 187-9 with Alex Fewings (52) and Dave Beer (24) the primary run scorers. The hosts reply was in deep trouble at 80-6 when Andy Gibson (57no) and Steve Morrish (55no) came together. The pair put on 108 to take the hosts to victory at 188-6. Nick Rowe took 5-23 in nine exceptional overs for the visitors

James Corry put in a superb shift for Westleigh in a 42 run home win over Bude. Corry hit 71, James Tythcott 52 and James Morris 42 as the home side scored 257. Bude were then bowled out for 215 with Corry taking 3-32 and playing the main support role with the ball to Sean Flloyd (5-34).

Bideford II claimed a fifth win of the season beating visiting Shobrooke Park by 52 runs. Home skipper Darren Hart scored a fine 94 and Mike Wigley chipped in with 48 in a home total of 241-7. Pete Steer bagged a brace for the Mid Devon side who were then bowled out for 189. Ross Knoll top scored with 49 and Pete Rose hit 32 but John Weeks (3-39) and that man hart (3-27), combined to ensure the hosts claimed the win.

New leaders

Division Four has new leaders following a second defeat of the season for Halberton, who went down by 71 runs at home to North Molton. Matt Geen top scored with 95 and Guy Loosemore hit 31 as Molton were bowled out for 223. Dan Coles took 3-28, Gerry Rowe 4-28 and Max Ansell (2-26). Coles then led the run chase all on his lonesome! Opening the innings he was still there at the close for an unbeaten 82. Such was his influence on proceedings that the next best total was the 10 struck by his fellow opener Andy Wilkinson!

There was a close encounter played out at Braunton as Kelseymen were edged out by Victoria Park II by two wickets in the final over of the day. Martin Seward struck a magnificent 127 and with Chris Brigden and Gary Gomez both chipping in with knocks of 32, the hosts were able to close on 251. Dave Gordon was one of four visiting bowlers to bag a brace of wickets. Gordon then led the run chase with a top score of 88. He and Richard Potter (71) provided the platform for the win with a partnership of 163 for the fifth wicket. There were a half century of extras to boost the successful run chase whilst Dan Cloakham was the most successful home bowler with 4-30.

Belstone big winners

Belstone were big winners at home to Bratton Fleming II, who they bundled out for just 56 after racking up a total of 268-9. David Binns (75) and Harry Bushin (39) were the mainstays of the home sides imposing total. Jonathan Parsons then took 4-11 in support of the 5-35 taken by Harry Bushin with the visitors hustled out inside 20 overs.

Ilfracombe were beaten at home by Lynton and Lynmouth II, the margin of victory being four wickets. Nathan Townsend (19) and Dean Davey (15) were the principle scorers for the home side. Tristan Jones claimed 5-24 for the visitors, who got home with overs and wickets to spare. Alistair Rodway top scored with 28 to go with the three wickets he had taken before tea. Jamie Sutton was the most successful home bowler with a three wicket haul.

Just one of the two scheduled Division Five games were played as Nomansland became the sixth team unable to field a side - an occurrence that has spread across all divisions except the top flight - and so fall foul of the new ruling where two points are taken off the average score for such an offence.

There was play at Petrockstowe, where the home side suffered their first defeat of the season. Visiting Heathcoat II batted first and were bowled out for 164 with only Sean Andrews (39) and James Davis (28), making any impression. Nigel Cockwill and Richard Luxton both bagged a brace of wickets for the table toppers who were then bundled out for just 103. Only Lawson Trenellan with 26 was able to get runs as Nic Gourty marked his debut for Heathcoat with impressive figures of 6-25.