Unique election for commons conservators

15 news conservators for Torrington Commons will be elected next week, a full list of the candidates are here.

Torrington residents will be voting in the first election of the Great Torrington Commons Conservators in 20 years on May 10.

Elections for the position take place every three years but have been uncontested for the past two decades so no election has been held.

Candidates elected will be responsible under The Great Torrington Commons Act 1889 for the maintenance, conservation and protection of the 365 acres of Common land around the town.

The polling station will be at Great Torrington Methodist Church, Windy Cross and will be open from 8am to 8pm. All electors are required to vote in person as no postal votes or poll cards will be sent under the rules of this election.

Of the 19 candidates, 15 will be elected. The candidates are:

COCKWILL, Jennifer May - 54 Town Park, Torrington, Devon, EX38 7AH

Most Read

COLLINGHAM, Michael - 202 New Street, Torrington, Devon, EX38 8BY

CRAWLEY, Kieron Michael Peter - 43 Rosemoor Road, Torrington, Devon, EX38 7NB

CUBITT, Barry John - Concord, Caddywell Lane, Gr.Torrington, EX38 7EN

DAVIES, Brian Maurice - 6 Prideaux Meadow, Torrington, EX38 7NH

EASTON, Stephanie Mary - 39 Castle Hill Gardens, Torrington, Devon, EX38 8EX

FORDHAM, Neil Steven - 32 Caddywell Meadow, Gt Torrington, Devon, EX38 7NZ

HARRISON, Jennifer Amanda - 2 Rolle Terrace, Great Torrington, Devon, EX38 8DQ

JOHNSON, Barry Beauchamp - 94 Mill Street, Torrington, Devon, EX38 8AW

JURY, Gerald Douglas - 4 Burwood Road, Great Torrington, N. Devon, EX38 7NE

LATHAM, Melanie May - 2 Queens Terrace, New Street, Torrington, EX38 8DG

LOUD, Michael John - Norwood Farm House, Great Torrington, Devon, EX38 7HA

MACPHEE, Denise - 92 Mill Street, Torrington

MARTINELLI, Terence John - Rosevine, Mill Street Common, Torrington, EX38 8AY

MCLAUGHLIN, Lynda - Rosevine, Mill Street Common, Torrington, EX38 8AY

RANDALL, Alan Nicholas - Valley View, Limers Hill, Torrington, EX38 8AX

RYAN, Carol Ann - 7 Victory Way, Torrington, EX38 7AR

WAGHORN, Paul Richard - 106 Mill Street, Torrington, Devon, EX38 8AW

WHALLEY, Clive John - 6 Glove Court, Villa Road, Torrington, EX38 8DX

Torridge District Council is administering the poll. For more information contact Paula Hunter, Torridge District Council 01237 428702 paula.hunter@torridge.gov.uk

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter