Proposals published today (Tuesday) reveal plans for a new Bideford, Bude and Launceston parliamentary constituency.

Proposals have been revealed today (Tuesday) for a new ‘Devonwall’ parliamentary constituency.

The proposed changes to the South West would see the breakdown of the current Torridge and West Devon seat, held by MP Geoffrey Cox.

It would form a new Bideford, Bude and Launceston constituency – spanning across the border to incorporate Devon and Cornwall.

The plans published by Boundary Commission for England (BCE) today show the South West constituencies reduced from 55 to 53.

The new constituency stretches from Port Isaac Bay to Bideford Bar and comprises of nine wards currently in North Cornwall and 18 currently in Torridge and West Devon.

The remaining five Torridge district wards not included would be incorporated into a revised Central Devon constituency.

The report by BCE said: “We consider that the most suitable point at which to cross the boundary is in the north of both counties, rather than traversing the River Tamar between Plymouth and Saltash, at which point the river, notwithstanding the bridge, presents a far more significant boundary between the two counties.

“We propose a constituency named Bideford, Bude and Launceston, which reflects the names of the three largest towns in the proposed constituency.”

North Devon’s parliamentary constituency will remain unchanged.

BCE is consulting on the proposals for the next 12 weeks, and will be accepting comments until December 5 at their website here.

Nationally, the review will see a reduction of 600 parliamentary constituencies, and each must contain no fewer than 71,031 electors and no more than 78,507.

Following the consultation, the responses will be published and a secondary consultation will take place in spring 2017.

After final consultations, BCE will report back to the government in September 2018.

What do you think of the proposals for a ‘Devonwall’ constituency? Take part in our poll above or drop us an email here.