North Devon and Torridge will be heading to the polls today (Thursday, May 2) for district and parish elections.

Polling stations will be open across the districts for residents to cast their votes between 7am and 10pm.

A total of 42 councillors will be elected to North Devon Council. However, the Chittlehampton district ward election has been delayed until Thursday, June 13 following the death of Councillor Walter White.

You can find a list of the North Devon Council candidates here.

There will be 36 councillors elected to Torridge District Council. You can find a list of the Torridge District Council candidates here.

Polling cards have been sent out to residents across the districts to those registered to vote, with the location of their polling station printed on their respective card.

Electoral services manager at North Devon Council, Judith Dark, said: “We hope to see lots of North Devon residents voting on election day.

“It's your opportunity to have your say about who represents you and your area on local issues that matter to you.”