Students at the school of architecture, construction and the built environment were awarded for the achievements yesterday (Weds).

The group of ACBE Petroc student at the awards evening.The group of ACBE Petroc student at the awards evening.

PETROC students have been celebrating their achievements yesterday (Weds) in a ceremony for the school of architecture, construction and the built environment (ACBE).

Awards were presented to students in categories such as best work-based student, best improved student and best performance.

Nick Welch, head of the school of ACBE, said: “Our awards evening is the highlight of the year.

“It’s a time to celebrate the achievements of young people and recognise the passion and commitment of all the people involved in shaping their future.”

The guest speaker at the event was Patrick Watts-Mabbott from Exmoor National Park.

He said: “Young people have a bit of a bad reputation but the more I work with them the more I realise how hard-working, determined and helpful they are.”

Student Ryan Acers won the Wallace M McKay Memorial Cup for best all round student.

He said: “The course has made me far more confident.

“I feel honoured to receive this award as it recognises how much I’ve improved and achieved over the year,”

The award winners were:

The Built Environment

Sam Colwill - Architecture Day Release Award (Most Motivated Student)

Edward Wickman - Architecture Full Time Award (Excellent Performance and Ability)

Joshua Crook - Harris Cup (Best Student on Construction Technicians Course)

Daniel Clifton - Chartered Institute of Building Shield (Quality and Distance Travelled)

Zak Beer - Ambassador Award (Representing Petroc)

Trowel Occupations

Daniel Lewis - Building Employers Confederation Cup (Most Improved Student)

Timothy Saxton - Westbrick Cup (Best Bricklayer)

James Gammon - Ray Blight Memorial Shield

Decorative Occupations

Charlie Cluett - Brewers Cup (Most Improved Painter and Decorator)

Ryan Acers - Wallace M McKay Memorial Cup (Best All Round)

Rebbeca Metcalf - Painting and Decorating Award (Best All Round 1st Year)

Electrical Installations

Billy Clews - Full Time Year 1 Award (Reliability and Effort)

Stephen Grimshire - Electrical Installation Day Release Year 1( Best Improved Student)

Mischa Behnke - Electrical Installation Full Time Year 2 (Best Improved Student)

Bryce Wilson - Electrical Installation Day Release Year 3 (Best Improved Student)

Plumbing & Mechanical Engineering Services

Jonathan Mallett - Plumbing Staff Choice Award

Harry Jackson & Macauley Hommell - Plumbing Level 1 Award

Timothy Verney - Institute of Plumbing Award

Jeremy Weston - Curry Cup for Plumbing

Maintenance Operations

Ashley Bushell - Work Based Learning Award (Best Performance)

Luke Isley - Day Release Award (Distance Travelled)

Wood Occupations

Joseph Wall - UCATT Cup for Woodworking (Over 18 years) Best Apprentice)

Jamie Cockbill - Mike Sweeting Cup (Best Overall Full Time Student)

Jack Gubb - Sharman Group 25th Anniversary Cup (Best Overall Work Based 3rd Year Student)

James Thompson - Anthony Layzell Memorial Cup (Excellent Achievement)

Harry Craig - Leaderlush & Shapland Cup (Practical Achievement)