A new-look North Devon Council will convene later this week to appoint its new leader and chairman.

Thursday's annual council meeting will be the first since the local elections took place on Thursday, May 2, where the Liberal Democrats made huge gains to take half of the seats on the council.

There will be 18 new faces taking their seats as the council appoints its leader, deputy leader and respective committees.

It will also elect a new chairman and vice-chairman for the year ahead at the meeting, which starts at 2.30pm at Brynsworthy Environment Centre.

There will also be changes to how the council is run, with its executive model being scrapped for a traditional committee model at its last full meeting on April 15.

In place of the executive committee - a group of councillors chosen by the leader and usually from the same party - will be a strategy and resources committee, which will have at least nine members and will include the leaders of each elected political group.

Speaking about the changes, NDC chief executive Mike Mansell said: "There was a lot of concern over a few years from members that not enough of them were able to get involved because its very much focussed on a small group of people.

"There will be a series of committees and rather than, perhaps as we've had, a single party executive, what we will have is a series of committees and they will be politically balanced so that all of the groups on the council will have their own representatives on those committees.

"Councillors just felt it would give more people and a wider spectrum of people a chance to be involved in the day to day running of the council."

The elections saw North Devon Liberal Democrats win 21 seats, nine more than the end of the last term. In contrast, the Conservatives, who had control of the council before the vote, lost seven seats.

There was success for the Green Party, who won two seats on the council for a first in North Devon.

Independent councillors fared well again, with seven winning seats. Labour and UKIP failed to make any inroads at district level, with neither party winning a seat.