The final blueprint for North Devon’s electoral boundaries has been published.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England has put out its final recommendations that will see North Devon Council reduced by one councillor.

But the commission says it has listened to local concerns following a consultation.

Instead of a north-south split, Braunton East will now include Knowle, while Braunton West will take in Georgeham.

Trentishoe will be part of Lynton and Lynmouth rather than Bratton Fleming ward as previously proposed.

Combe Martin parish will form a ward of its own, rather than be part of a larger ward with Marwood under the draft recommendations.

The parishes of George Nympton and Queens Nympton will be removed from the proposed South Molton ward and be part of Bishop’s Nympton.

Bishop’s Nympton and Witheridge will be divided into two one-councillor wards.

Professor Colin Mellors, chairman of the commission, said, “We are extremely grateful to people across North Devon who took part in the review. The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.

“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout North Devon.”

Full details of the final recommendations are available on the Commission’s website at