Election 2017: How did North Devon and Torridge vote in the 2015 general election?

Counting for the North Devon seat gets under way at the leisure centre in Barnstaple. Picture: Andy

Counting for the North Devon seat gets under way at the leisure centre in Barnstaple. Picture: Andy Keeble - Credit: Archant

Theresa May has called a snap general election to be held on June 8. Here’s a re-cap of what happened when North Devon and Torridge last went to the polls in 2015.

Remember the 2015 General Election? The Conservatives won the seat for the first time in 23 years, ousting long-serving Liberal Democrat Nick Harvey.

Newcomer Peter Heaton-Jones received 22,341 votes – a majority of 13.3 per cent – coming from 5,000 votes behind Sir Nick [in 2010] to beat him by 7,000 votes.

Sir Nick received 15,405 votes, the victim of a nationwide backlash against the Lib Dems that also saw the party lose many of its big guns including Vince Cable, Danny Alexander and Charles Kennedy.

In third place was Steve Crowther of UKIP with 7,719 votes. Mark Cann (Labour) received 3,699 votes; Ricky Knight (Green) got 3,018 votes and Gerrard Sables (Communist) got 138 votes.

In Torridge and West Devon, Conservative Geoffrey Cox retained the seat he has held since 2005 with 28,774 votes.

Derek Sargent (UKIP) came second with 10,371; Paula Dolphin (Lib Dem) got 7,483; Mike Sparling (Labour) got 6,015; and Cathrine Simmons (Green) polled 3,941 votes.

POLL: Election 2017: Which way will you vote?

Most Read

2015 General Election results:


Peter Heaton Jones (Cons): 22,341

Nick Harvey (Lib Dem): 15,405

Steve Crowther (UKIP): 7,719

Mark Cann (Lab): 3,699

Ricky Knight (Green): 3,018

Gerrard Sables (Comm): 138


Geoffrey Cox (Cons): 28,774

Derek Sargent (UKIP): 10,371

Paula Dolphin (Lib Dem): 7,483

Mike Sparling Labour 6,015

Cathrine Simmons (Green): 3,941

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter