Find who was elected to Devon County Council in North Devon and Torridge with our interactive table and what it means for the political map

The election dust is settling with Conservatives making three county councillor gains across North Devon and Torridge.

In North Devon the sitting Conservative councillors held on to their existing four seats and made one gain with Paul Crabb being elected for Ilfracombe to oust independent Mike Edmunds.

Across the county, there was a slight Conservative gain to retain control of the council. They won 42 of the 60 seats available, and increase of four on 2013 but there were also two seats less after boundary changes.

The Liberal Democrats and Labour both took seven, while three went to independents and the Green Party took one.

There was an overall turnout of 40.2 per cent of the 601,797 eligible voters. The vote share was 44% Cons; 21.1% Lib Dem; 14.6% Lab; 4.3% UKIP; 5.8% Green; 0.2% Liberal party; 8.5% Ind; 0.2% other.

Conservative and council leader John Hart said: “I am very humbled that the people of Devon have placed their trust in us and given us a sweeping mandate to continue our work.

“We’ve had to make some tough decisions over the past eight years and I believe we will have more tough decisions to make in the future.

“But I am confident we have made Devon County Council a more efficient, effective and business-like organisation and we can now move from austerity to opportunity.”

In Torridge it was a Conservative clean sweep, with all five seats turning blue and reclaiming two seats from UKIP.

For North Devon there was little change, with seven of the existing county councillors holding on to their seats.

They were: Barnstaple South – John Mathews (Cons); Combe Martin Rural - Andrea Davis (Cons); Barnstaple North – Brian Greenslade (Lib Dem); South Molton – Jeremy Yabsley (Cons); Chulmleigh and Landkey - Richard Edgell (Cons); Fremington Rural – Frank Biederman (Ind); Braunton Rural – Caroline Chugg (Cons).

The only change was Paul Crabb, who claimed the Ilfracombe ward for the Conservatives to take it from independent Mike Edmunds. He said: “I am tremendously pleased the voters in Ilfracombe have voted for me. I would especially like to thank Mike Edmunds for his previous service in the role the role.

“It was a good clean campaign and nobody was nasty. Congratulations to North Devon Green Party whose members campaigned in force in Ilfracombe.

“I look forward to the next four years and to doing the very best I can for all my constituents regardless of how they voted.”

In Torridge, there were five seats up for grabs. The Conservatives’ Tony Inch wrested the Bideford West and Hartland seat from UKIP’s Robin Julian, while Bideford East, vacated by UKIP’s Gaston Dezart, was claimed by Conservative Linda Hellyer.

Barry Parsons (Cons) held on to Holsworthy Rural, as did fellow Conservative Andrew Eastman at Northam, while new Conservative candidate Andrew Saywell took Torrington Rural.