New leaders in North Devon League

Joseph Bulmer

Week seven of the Farm Cottage Holidays North Devon Cricket League brought a change of leadership in the top flight and the ending of two 100 per cent records.

Newton Tracey are the new Division 1 leaders after a seven wicket win over ailing Sandford, who are now cast adrift at the foot of the table.

Toby Lockhead (52) was the principle provider of runs in the Mid Devon side’s 205. John Turner claimed 3-17 for the hosts, who then raced to victory. They were led by Simon Gear, who hit a six to win and finished unbeaten on 136, this after he had been dropped first ball! Ian Gear weighed in with 33 for Newton, who are now the only top flight side who remain unbeaten this term.

There was a first defeat for previous leaders Hatherleigh, who were beaten by seven wickets at Braunton, where the home side successfully chased down a total of 256.

Robert Chapman led the visitors to their respectable total with 111 and Jack Ashman chipped in with 28, while Jason Hayes took 3-47 in seven overs.

Barney Huxtable led the successful run chase with an unbeaten 72 and Ian Roberts struck 64. Robert Cockwill claimed all three Braunton wickets to fall, finishing with 3-43 from nine overs.

Filleigh were beaten for the second time this season when crushed by 137 runs at home to visiting Bideford.

James Ford (106) and Matt Allin (66) led the visiting side to 219-8. Gary Henry took 4-41 for Filleigh, who were then hustled out for just 82 as Dave Staddon (3-17) and Martin Stewart (3-19) did the damage.

Division 2 leaders Barnstaple and Pilton made it six wins from as many outings with a 62 run home win over Shebbear.

Stand-in skipper Andrew Barton led by example with 92 while Jaz Iqbal hit an unbeaten 29 and there were 41 extras as Barum closed on 224. Nick Law, Jamie Neilsen and Dikembe Wilson each bagged a brace of wickets.

Shebbear were then bowled out for 162, with James Reader top scoring with 33 and Law completed a decent all-round game with 25. Tom Popham (3-29), Gary McEndoo (2-18), Danny Donovan (2-18) and Brady Saunders (2-32), shared the wicket taking duties.

Beaford remain hot on the leaders’ heels after they claimed a third win in four games at Morebath, where they restricted the home side to 194-8 and then knocked them off for then loss of four wickets.

Tim Hill (62) and Lee Hooper (53) were the main scorers in the Morebath innings. Alex Crisp took 5-33 and followed that up with an unbeaten 43 as he and Paul Herd (74) saw their side to a comfortable victory.

Halberton stay top of Division 3 after a five wicket win at Bideford.

Dan Smith (36) and Tom Bulley (36) were the main run providers in Bideford’s 225 total. Richie Durrant took 3-43 and Joe Wadham 2-15 for the Mid Devon side, who were then led to victory by Tom Radley (45) and Durrant (38). Paul Shepherd took 2-26 for the beaten hosts.

North Devon II took a strong side to Bude and won at a canter.

Craig Overton hit 108 and there were other healthy contributions from Max Curtis (80), Tom Ansell (52no) and Matt Dart (26) as North Devon rattled up 302-4. Andy De Rosa claimed two of the wickets to fall and then hit a half century, but the only other home batsman to make an impression was debutant Henry Asquith with 28 as Sam Meadowcroft took 3-23 and the final wicket in the reply fell on 155.

Belstone were 30 run winners in their Division 4 home game with Barnstaple and Pilton II, who were bowled out for 179 in reply to the hosts 209.

It was a similar story of home success at Westleigh, where

Victoria Park were bowled out for 167 at Westleigh, who passed their target for the loss of just three wickets, with Mark Cann (56) and James Tythcott (55no) among the runs. This was Westleigh’s first win of the season.

Feniton III claimed a big Division 5 victory at Cheriton Fitzpaine.

Macaulay Harrison-Hooton (57) and Harley Ashdown (50) led the visitors to 223-7.

Cheriton were all out for 112.

Bishops Nympton began the day leading the Division 5 table, but they were well beaten at Bratton Fleming II, where they were bundled out for 89 and lost by seven wickets. Jason Smith, Ben Ward, Murray Sharpe and Pat Crane, each bagged a brace of wickets for the hosts, who then had an unbeaten 48 from Adam Payne to take them over the winning line. Mike Burrows took all three Bratton wickets to fall.