Last open meet of 2021 for Bideford shooting

North Devon Gazette

A largely dry day with very little wind set the scene for Bideford Target Shooting Club’s last Open Meeting of 2021, and competitors from all over Devon and Cornwall came to Melbury ranges to take part.Â

The event was a short-range bench rest competition, shot at 25-yards distance, and competitors could enter either with .22 rifles or air rifles, with separate competitions for each.Â

They had to fire four cards each, a total of 40 shots, with a total possible score of 400.Â

For several competitors, it was their first visit to Melbury and it was also very pleasing to see some of the club’s newest members taking part in their first ever shoulder-to-shoulder competition.Â

Some of the county’s best shooters took part and, as a result, scoring in Class A (.22) was extremely tight.  All three of the leaders in this class scored 399 ex 400, and so the places had to be decided first of all by the number of x’s (centre tens) shot, and then by the countback rule.Â

The win eventually went to Paignton’s Colin Reeves with 13 x’s, ahead of Tony Sprague from Pinhoe who had 12 x’s.  Tony’s final card of 100 just put him ahead of Budleigh Farm’s Bernard Schwarz, who had 399 with 12 x’s, but 99 on his final card  -  it could hardly have been closer!Â

In Class B (.22) Sam Bernard from the home club had a stunning shoot with 398, well ahead of his club-mate John Blaney on 393.  Blaney had a total of 10 x’s, which pushed another Bideford shooter, Jon Morris, into third place, two x’s behind.Â

Two visitors took the top spots in Class A (air rifle); Steve Ellis from Launceston scored 381, beating Tiverton’s Paul Baker by three points.  In Class B (air rifle), the top two places were taken by new shooters from Bideford – Hayden Angelinetta who scored 372 and Daisy Hebard on 352 – both creditable performances for shooters who only started shooting three months ago.Â

The pairs was won by John Blaney and Bernard Schwarz, whose total score of 792 was just two points better than Frank Pearman and Colin Reeves.Â