Filleigh new North Devon leaders

Joseph Bulmer

FILLEIGH are the new leaders of the North Devon cricket league after they beat previous leaders North Devon by five wickets. North Devon batted first and were restricted to a total of 192. Max Curtis (50), Mat Nobes (46) and Craig Overton (35) were their

FILLEIGH are the new leaders of the North Devon cricket league after they beat previous leaders North Devon by five wickets.

North Devon batted first and were restricted to a total of 192.

Max Curtis (50), Mat Nobes (46) and Craig Overton (35) were their principle run getters as Frazer James (3-38), Jaz Kalsi (2-13) and Gary Henry (2-50) took the wickets.

Kalsi led the run chase with 64 and Toby Lockhead struck 53 as Filleigh reached their target with two-and-a-half to spare.

Dan Bowser picked up 3-11 for North Devon, who slip from top spot to third as Heathcoat won the Mid Devon derby with Morebath to jump into second spot.

Basement dwellers Victoria Park had more misery as visiting Bideford became the seventh side in as many outings to defeat them.

Matthew Allin top scored with 64 and Ian Hayter provided the best of the rest with 28 as Bideford were restricted to 192-8 with Mick Cashmere (2-39) and Steve Oliver (2-27) leading the bowling. Park were then bundled out for 135 with only Colin Bettis (41) and Hamish Cameron (22) making runs. Hayter completed a fine all round game with 3-4 from a brace of overs and James Ford took 3-21.

Match of the day

Match of the day in Division 2 was at Shebbear, where something had to give in their meeting with Newton Tracey, the two sides both starting the day with 100 percent records. At stumps it was visiting Newton who were still able to boast an unbeaten tag after a six wicket win.

Shebbear were under strength and it showed as only Martin Bray (68) and Quinn Clarke (20) made any impression with the bat in a 143 total as Dan Newby claimed 5-39. Rob Gear then struck 45, leading Newton Tracey to 144-4.

Beaford won at home to Lynton and Lynmouth to maintain their push for promotion back to the top flight.

The visitors were bowled out for 165. Dave Proctor dominated the innings with 94 while Tristan Jones chipped in with 32. Pete McMillan (3-38), Andrew James (2-19), Alan James (2-0), Paul Heard (2-31) were the top wickets takers.

Ali McMillan then struck an imperious 88no. Support came from Paul Heard (37) and Ben Lake (21) as the home side cantered to a seven wicket success.

Hatherleigh heaped more pain on bottom-of-the-table Holsworthy, who suffered a seventh straight defeat.

Ryan Walker (31) and Jack Greening (28) were the only notable Holsworthy batsmen in a total of 103 as Tom Rogers took 4-19 in 5.3 overs. Then Jack Cherrington (56) and Will Chapman (36no) ensured a smooth run chase with only one wicket lost.

Double century

Bideford completed the first half of their Division Three season with a fourth win over basement side Westleigh.

It was the Darren Hart show as the Bideford skipper stroked his way to a glorious double hundred, walking off at tea with an unbeaten 202 off just 129 balls faced, including 23 fours and seven sixes! Jack Hocking also chipped in with 70 as the home side closed on a formidable 359.

Westleigh made a bright start, but wickets began to fall and they ended on 195. Mark Cann (37), Mick Braund (33) and Tony Reay (31) were the principle scorers for the visitors. Daniel Barrett (3-25), Ben Brend (2-14) and Paul Shepherd (2-33) took wickets.

Bude were 61 run winners over Sandford II in a high scoring affair.

Sam Hockin (62), Andre De Rosa (54) and Matthew Mansbridge (52) provided the biggest scores in Bude's 265-9 with Bob Eames and Sean Fryatt each bagging a brace of wickets.

Pete Whitby led the run chase with a fighting 63, but only Gary Abdul (34) was able to stay for long and the visitors closed on 204-8. There were two wickets each for Jovie Woofenden-Brown,De Rosa and Lee Watson.

Pack moves closer

In a full programme in Division Four only leaders Halberton were inactive, leaving the chasing pack to take advantage.

Newton Tracey consolidated second spot with an eight wicket win at home to Kelseymen, who were bowled out for 113, led by Tom Mitchum (69). John Brewer (3-16), Jim Walter (3-16) and Colin Wadsworth (2-7) claimed the wickets. Mark Cowling led the run chase with an unbeaten 49 and Connor Nash chipped in with 20 as only two wickets were lost by the victorious hosts.

North Molton firmed up their promotion bid when handed the match by Lynton and Lynmouth II, who could not raise a side.

Bottom two Ilfracombe and Victoria Park II, produced an exciting game,, won by Victoria Park off the last ball of the match!

Dave Gordon hit 63 and Nigel Taylor an unbeaten 43 as Park closed on 175-7, Jason Newman taking 3-36 and Chris Harris and Nathan Townsend two wickets each.

Deputy skipper Jamie Sutton struck 40 in support of Chris Harris' 44, but the final ball of the game saw Toby Gory score two, when only a four would do.

Bratton Fleming II lost to visiting Belstone. Jamie Thomas top scored with 51 in a Bratton Fleming total of 143 as David Binns (4-37) and Harry Bushin (3-20) combined for the wickets.

Bushin then hit an unbeaten 35 and Sam Ewings 36 as Belstone got home with overs and five wickets to spare. Oliver Hunt was the pick of the home bowlers with 4-23.

Top versus bottom

There was a top versus bottom encounter in Division Five as Bishop Nympton entertained table topping Petrockstowe, who departed with their 100% record intact.

The home side were restricted to 154-6, Mark Chaplin (50), Jamie Giffard (38) and skipper Kelvin Warren (37no) scoring the runs and Ian Cockwill claiming 3-16. Petrockstowe were led to a four wicket win by Kenny Windsor (34), Tom Parrish (26) and James Gilbert (25). Jonathan Simmons picked up 4-31.

Heathcoat enhanced their promotion hopes with victory in the Mid Devon derby with Nomansland and yet another of their very young brigade heralded as the match winner. The home side closed on 192-6, led by a superb 89no from Jim Cridland, with supporting roles from Sean Andrews and 13-year-old Jamie Drew with 26 each.. John McGovern bagged a brace for the Witheridge based visitors and then scored 31 in support of Gary Say's top score of 41. Matt Handford claimed a couple of wickets, but young Drew stole the show with the final three wickets of the match to notch a hat-trick as Nomansland were out for 169.

Barnstaple and Pilton III consigned Cheriton Fitzpaine to their sixth defeat and here it was the evergreen Dave Loder who was the star of the show. Loder struck an unbeaten 75 to lead Barum to 197-9, with Phil Sherborne adding 32. Mark English was the most successful of the visiting bowlers with 4-51.

The reply was led by veteran Peter Blight with 34, but no-one else stuck around for long as Chris Newton claimed 6-11.