Bideford move closer to the title

Joseph Bulmer

BIDEFORD beat visiting Heathcoat by a massive 164 runs to take a step closer to landing their first North Devon League title since 2004.

Michael Young struck an unbeaten 127 from just 55 deliveries, plundering seven sixes and a dozen fours. Will Barrett (81), Matt Allin (47) and James Ford (34) all chipped in as Bideford powered their way to 328-4. Will Brown (2-28) and Chris Salter (2-63) took wickets for Heathcoat.

The mid-Devon side were then bowled out for 154, with only Toby Lett (39) and Nick Goulty (25) providing much resistance. Bideford skipper Ian Hayter (3-39), Martin Stewart (2-25) and Fred King (2-1) claimed wickets and Hayter’s side are now four wins away from landing the title.

North Devon were comfortable 63 run victors over Sandford to move up to third place and set things up nicely for next Sunday’s visit to table toppers Bideford.

Craig Overton and Glenn Querl both had knocks of 85 in a total of 281-6. Ashley Baker took 2-38 for Sandford, who made a decent fist of the run chase, but petered out on 218. Richard Tucker top scored with 67, while Max Curtis was the most successful of the home bowlers with 3-32.

Jaz Kalsi struck yet another century for Filleigh, this time his unbeaten 138 helping them to 255-9. But it was not enough to catch Braunton, with their own centurion Stuart Rhodes hitting 128 in a 311-6 total that gave them victory by 56 runs.

Tom Marsh and Martin Brice both bagged a brace for Filleigh while Rhodes completed a fine all-round contribution for Braunton with 3-36 and Ed Holmes took 2-43.

Division Two table toppers Barnstaple and Pilton entertained Weare Giffard in a match that was poised to serve up a thrilling finish before a heavy downpour brought proceedings to a premature end. An unbeaten 71 from Jaz Iqbal and knocks of 41 from Danny Donovan and 34 from George McEndoo led Barum to 234-7. The visitors were 126-4 with Ian Jury 37 not out, when the heavens opened.

Ian Hobbs hit 72 to help guide Lynton and Lynmouth to a four wicket win at Morebath. James Miles (34) provided the top score for the hosts in a total of 177. Tristan Jones claimed 3-30 for Lynton, who made short work of the run chase.

Shobrooke Park remain in a relegation berth despite a third win of the season, with a 20 run success at Victoria Park.

Shobrooke reached 189-8, Ben Stockton top scoring with 64, as Steve Oliver took 5-42 and Ian Brown sent down nine overs for 2-19. Brown then hit the top score of 45 in reply and Mick Cashmore weighed in with an unbeaten 38 from down the order, but the final home wicket fell on 169.

Halberton took a big step towards securing promotion from Division 3 with a 37 run home win over Filleigh II.

Sam Franks (67), Dan Coles (53), Adrian Hills (52), Brian Chilcott (25) and Nick Dean (25) all chipped in to the Mid Devon men’s 285-6. Jack Wakeley took 2-58.

At 135-1 the visitors were well on target. But wickets then fell at regular intervals and they closed on 248-9. Charles Cullen hit exactly 100 while Wakeley completed a fine all-round effort with 44 and Baljit Kalsi chipped in with 22. Thomas Radley sent down six overs and returned figures of 5-9 and there was a brace of wickets from Brian Chilcott.

Bratton Fleming continue to be the best of the rest, winning by seven wickets at home to Bideford this week, and will regard their August 14 meeting with Halberton as the one they must win to try and overall the Mid Devon men.

James Tapp (3-27) and James Thomas (3-23) combined to bowl visiting Bideford II out for 155. Dan Barrett top scored for Bideford with 35, but the only other bat to score runs was Jay Corden with 23. Paddy Dartnoll then hit an unbeaten 60 and Graham Barrow was not out 38 when a seven wicket home win was confirmed.

Holsworthy eased their relegation woes with a 46 run home win over North Devon II. Ryan Walter (53), Jack Greening (32) and Dave Gerry (31) led the home side to 172 all out, with John Wainwright claiming 5-25. In the 126 reply only Tom Stanton (34) made much impression as Rob Dow was the pick of the Holsworthy bowlers with 3-17.

Division Four promotion hopefuls Petrockstowe were well beaten at Westleigh, by 146 runs.

James Tythcott hit an unbeaten 73 and was aided by Mark Cann (26) and Lee Farrant (25) as Westleigh were bowled out for 195, Jack Morgan claiming 4-34. The visitors were then hustled out for a paltry 49 in just 27 overs. Ollie Scantlebury hit an unbeaten 15, while Alan Down took 4-15 and James Corry 3-10.

Phil Woods hit 45 as Belstone recorded a ninth win in 11 Division Four outings with a nine wicket win at North Molton. The hosts continue to suffer with availability and had as many as five regular batsmen missing. It showed in an all out total of 117, with Will Sherring top scoring on 44. Harry Bushin took 6-22 for the visitors, who were led by Woods to a comfortable win.

Tim Lane hit 85 for Victoria Park II, but it was a losing cause as they went down by five wickets at Lynton and Lynmouth II.

Just one game was played in Division Five and it saw Nomansland claim a four wicket win at a youthful Cheriton Fitzpaine. Charles Mossman (19) top scored for the Cherries while Ashley Wreford (3-9) and skipper Gordon McGovern (2-9) claimed wickets for Witheridge, who were led to victory by John Gibson (30no) and McGovern (21). Ben Coe took 2-11 from nine overs and there was also a fine spell from 15-year-old Red Evans, 2-24.