Battle of the Saunton past captains

Joseph Bulmer

Past captains’ team event attracts good turn-out

ONE hundred and sixty competitors played in Saunton Golf Club’s annual past captains’ team event, using both the East and West courses.

Divided into one pair on each course, the teams of four played betterball Stableford off the white tees.

Immediate past captain Brian Warren won the Cyril Slocombe trophy for best past captain, beating John Davies on the back nine and Steve Vine took the honours for best team on the day.

Results: Winning past captain - Brian Warren, Mike Powell, Steve Gowing, Dave Kershaw 80 pts. Top team – 1, Steve Vine, Paul Stevens, Keith Wade, Lew Baglow 86 pts; 2, Phil Venn, Nick Maddison, Richard Basey Fisher, Mike Rooke 83; 3, John Gillings, Malcolm Hale, John Loney, Joe Bebbington 82. Best pair east - Andy Ackland, Keith Adamson 42 pts. Best pair west - Craig Welmers, Graham Curry 44 pts