Anchor’s big haul

Joseph Bulmer

TOTAL Anchors of the Anchor Inn, Bideford, are the Devon Pool Association Interleague, Premier League and Knock-out Cup Champions.

They beat teams from Plymouth, Cullompton, Crediton and the defending Premier League champions Bideford A, to capture their first Premier League title.

In the Knock-Out Cup they beat Kingsteignton 19-7 in the semi-finals and Cullompton 19-11 in the final to secure a memorable double and round off a remarkable season.

Ten of the Total Anchor squad were also in the top 30 of the final interleague players averages, with Jon Gifford coming top.

Their reward is potentially some trips to Great Yarmouth in April and October next year to compete for the national titles.

In picture from left-to-right, back row: Lee Seville, Ross Glover, Tony Woodroffe, Jamie Thompson, James Crump and Kris Vanstone. Front row: Tony Bullock, Jon Gifford, Mike Ford and Tom Griffin. Not in picture: Richard Brown and Terry Martin.