Barnstaple Amateur Boxing Club wrap up season with awards ceremony

PUBLISHED: 14:00 20 June 2017

Barnstaple ABC's award winners.

Barnstaple ABC's award winners.


Club celebrates busy year with host of awards for boxers

Barnstaple Amateur Boxing Club rounded off the boxing season with their annual awards ceremony.

It’s been a year of change for the club, who split from England Boxing to register with the Amateur Boxing Alliance in November.

Guests of honour at the presentation at Bradiford’s Windsor Arms were former club president Dick Brownson and ex-boxer Jimmy Isaacs.

Liam Laird and Jed Davies were the big winners on the night, with Laird and Davies given three awards each.

Laird won the Davies Cup for best senior, the Simpson’s captain’s cup and the Fred Fewings Shield.

Davies was honoured with the Eels Annual Junior Trophy, the Hawkins Cup and the ‘most battered’.

Troy Elworthy and Will Robson picked up two awards each.

Elworthy won the Warburton Trophy for the busiest boxer, as well as the Dave Short Shield.

Robson took the Charlie Simpson Novice Shield and the Annual Junior Award.

The full list of winners is as follows:

Charlie Simpson Novice Shield: Will Robson.

Davies Cup for best senior: Liam Laird.

Most improved competitor: Chris Boyd.

Eels Annual Junior Trophy: Jed Davies.

Warburton Trophy: Troy Elworthy.

Lewis Trophy: Charlie Ludwell.

Simpson’s Captains Cup: Liam Laird.

Bale Cup: Alfie Moulden.

Annual Junior Award: Will Robson.

Hawkins Cup: Jed Davies.

Wilf Cooper Cup: Harry Sugars.

Fred Fewings Trophy: Ed Cross.

Fred Fewings Shield: Liam Laird.

Dave Short Shield: Troy Elworthy.

Chapple Shield: Elliot Worsey.

Fred Huxtable Cup: Finley Lancaster.

Most battered: Jed Davies.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Other Sport Stories

Mon, 09:29

Manager quits after seven months in charge of the Evo-Stik League South West club

Read more
Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Barum score 22 unanswered points to seal a bonus point win in Coventry

Read more
Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Defeat means Bideford are still searching for their first win since October 28.

Read more
Saturday, December 2, 2017

Evo-Stik League South West game called off after 43 minutes

Read more
Saturday, December 2, 2017

Second-half strike means Barum come from behind again to take another point

Read more
Saturday, December 2, 2017

North Devon and Somerset bowler gets key wicket on opening day of second Ashes Test in Adelaide

Read more
Thursday, November 30, 2017

Portland’s Archie Nash was the latest victim for Barnstaple ABC’s Jed Davies at Malmsbury

Read more
Thursday, November 30, 2017

Billy Stanbury of Bideford ABC did himself proud when he topped the bill in Southampton

Read more

Most Read Sport

Local Weather



max temp: 10°C

min temp: 4°C

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
North Devon Football League
Order Photos
Family notices
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Read the North Devon Gazette e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Show Job Lists

Local business directory

North Devon's trusted business finder

Find planning applications