Videos

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Watch: Aerial drone video of new Route 39 academy site near Bucks Cross

Read more
Thursday, September 22, 2016

The Gazette got on the water this morning (Thursday) to watch as the historic steamship entered the River Torridge ahead of its permanent mooring in Bideford.

Read more
Thursday, September 22, 2016

Bomb disposal experts carried out a controlled explosion on Blacksands Beach after World War Two grenade was found.

Read more
Wednesday, September 21, 2016

‘I didn’t know anything about it until I went for coffee with my daughter on Monday morning. She said ‘mum, you’re famous!’

Read more
Sunday, September 18, 2016

Massachusetts police officer left baffled during bizarre call across the pond – Excuse me ma’am, did you say ‘Muddiford’?

Read more
Friday, September 16, 2016

The daughters of a popular Barnstaple bike enthusiast who died this week are asking bikers to create a giant funeral convoy for their father’s final ride.

Read more
Wednesday, September 14, 2016

Our man holds on tight, feels the Gs and even manages not to swear!

Read more
Wednesday, September 14, 2016

The fair was opened this morning (Wednesday) with its traditional ceremony, including a procession through town.

Read more
Sunday, September 4, 2016

Barnstaple hosts second Colour Me Happy run in aid of North Devon Hospice

Read more
Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Actor from Barnstaple spent seven months enlisting the help of various celebrities to help with proposal.

Read more
Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Ex-forces personal trainer Jack Johns, 47, is scaling buildings, lampposts and even diggers to carry out press up challenge.

Read more
Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Update: Success Regime head responds as campaigners urge ‘no cuts to health services’ at the peaceful Red Line mass protest in Barnstaple

Read more
Friday, August 19, 2016

Gyrating video to Olivia Newton-John and John Travolta classic to raise money for ventilator appeal

Read more
Monday, August 15, 2016

Our reporter Matt Smart took on the gargantuan new Smokehouse Challenge at the Custom House - find out how he got on...

Read more
Friday, August 12, 2016

Head down to Bar62 for a fine array of drinks, from tropical tastes, sweetshop favourites and even smoking cocktails...

Read more
Thursday, August 11, 2016

Wall to wall fancy dress as annual carnival parade takes to the streets

Read more
Friday, August 5, 2016

Emergency services have launched a campaign in High Bickington, warning ‘careless parking could cost lives’

Read more
Wednesday, August 3, 2016

The 50th anniversary show is proving a big hit with the crowds once again with monster truck madness and livestock galore.

Read more
Monday, July 18, 2016

Charity shares advice on common problems to look out for as a heatwave hits North Devon.

Read more
Monday, July 18, 2016

Cheers for festival trio mark the start of ‘amazing’ Green Man day

Read more
Thursday, July 14, 2016

Addition to Methodist Church Hall singing group has links to 1950s rock and roll.

Read more
Friday, July 8, 2016

Quick thinking RNLI lifeguards sprang into action to help two 16-year-olds stuck in a rip current

Read more
Friday, July 1, 2016

North Devon’s first trampoline park opens on Monday (July 4)

Read more
Friday, July 1, 2016

Pro-Brexit campaigner escapes Westminster after decision not to stand in Tory leadership race

Read more
Friday, July 1, 2016

Veterans gather in Rock Park to honour the 100th anniversary of the first day of the horrific World War One engagement

Read more
Thursday, June 9, 2016

Officers release CCTV footage of ram-raid on Ilfracombe pharmacy, in which culprit took 20 bottles of perfume while wearing a Scream mask.

Read more
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Fresh High Street poll indicates how Barnstaple might vote in the EU referendum

Read more
Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Plans to grow Roundswell for the future are given the green light at County Hall in Exeter

Read more
Monday, June 6, 2016

Aeroplanes land on the beach and living history groups stage ‘beach assault’

Read more
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Watch: The spirit of summer is released a day earlier than usual as Ilfracombe’s May Day celebrations enjoyed a good turn out

Read more
Wednesday, April 13, 2016

Veterans formally presented with medals at Chivenor ceremony

Read more
Friday, April 1, 2016

Councillors urged to ‘back Route 39’ and drop plans to launch judicial review.

Read more
Tuesday, March 22, 2016

A film producer and director who has led expeditions across the globe has produced a short film about a Barnstaple beauty spot under threat from developers.

Read more
Thursday, February 18, 2016

Michael Gaunt needs your help as part of the Red Bull Can You Make It challenge.

Read more
Tuesday, February 16, 2016

David Bruce will be on ITV tonight (Tuesday) talking about how he believes his action hero Jason Statham would have tackled armed robber in a similar way.

Read more
Friday, February 12, 2016

‘Sidmouth animal can read minds’, says owner

Read more
Monday, February 8, 2016

Westward Ho! and Ilfracombe are among communities bracing for another high tide at 6pm this evening

Read more
Monday, February 8, 2016

Part of annex roof found in staff car park

Read more
Monday, February 1, 2016

The Appledore and Padstow lifeboats have returned home after more than 24 hours at sea following the dramatic rescue of the 300-foot cargo ship Verity

Read more
Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Ben Bengey, 19, has been signed up for a new industry promotional campaign

Read more
Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Dogs Trust reveals the shocking, lazy and farcical excuses used by people dumping their pets in the last 12 months

Read more
Wednesday, November 11, 2015

The cute and comical video shows pupils getting stuck in to Cinderella-inspired dance routine.

Read more
Wednesday, October 28, 2015

Errant emu spotted wandering the streets of Ilfracombe...

Read more
Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Chivenor’s 22 Squadron has thanked North Devon for its support as it says goodbye.

Read more
Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Coastguard is warning people to stay away after thousands of tons of earth and rock cascaded down the cliff.

Read more
Tuesday, September 29, 2015

HRH The Earl of Wessex visited the new Seamoor Unit as part of his tour of North Devon today (Tuesday).

Read more
Wednesday, September 16, 2015

North Devon Gazette brings you the best way to keep track of the Rugby World Cup fixtures.

Read more
Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Guildhall is filled to the rafters for annual event which sees Barnstaple fair officially opened.

Read more
Monday, September 7, 2015

Emotional farewell at packed parish church coincided with first day of National Transplant Week.

Read more
Sunday, August 30, 2015

Crowds were treated to a giant charity bonfire and spectacular fireworks display in Torrington last night (Saturday).

Read more
Friday, August 21, 2015

Benjamin Barton, 18, from Bideford was sentenced at Exeter Crown Court today (Friday).

View previously unreleased photos of evidence left at the scene of the crime, as well as CCTV footage of the robbery, here.

Read more
Thursday, August 20, 2015

Shoppers queued outside of the TK Maxx store in Green Lanes, Barnstaple, ahead of the opening this morning (Thursday).

Read more
Thursday, August 13, 2015

Video shows moments woman was rescued by RNLI lifeguards and administered CPR before being airlifted to hospital from Croyde beach.

Read more
Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Big waves are wreaking havoc for motorists who parked near the coast this morning (Monday)...

Read more
Friday, July 31, 2015

A woman was taken to hospital after five fire crews battled to fight blaze at Torrington terraced home.

Read more
Wednesday, July 29, 2015

As Benjamin Barton, 18, pleads guilty to attempted armed robbery at Coopers Jewellery in Barnstaple, detectives have revealed how ‘bag for life’ and an odd purchase held the key to solving the investigation...

Read more
Monday, July 27, 2015

Around 17,000 people flocked to Castle Hill Estate this weekend to party through the rain and sunshine at Somersault Festival.

Read more
Monday, July 20, 2015

Thousands flock to ‘best ever’ festival.

Read more
Wednesday, July 15, 2015

Fire fighters confirmed no one was on board boat when it burst into flames on River Taw last night (Tuesday).

Read more
Thursday, July 9, 2015

Not a dry eye on the dock as residents gather to say goodbye to the Mersey class lifeboat...

Read more
Thursday, July 2, 2015

Gazette reporter Sarah Howells joined the pilot boat on the River Torridge to wave LÉ James Joyce on her way to Ireland this morning (Thursday).

Read more
Monday, June 29, 2015

A high flying guest joins mourners at the funeral of Les Francis, 97

Read more
Thursday, June 25, 2015

Barnstaple man comes forward after CCTV footage - and has not been arrested by police.

Read more
Tuesday, June 9, 2015

Watch the moment jewellery shop owner David Bruce fought off a would-be armed robbery in Barnstaple with a baseball bat.

Read more
Friday, June 5, 2015

Club members speak of their delight the day New Zealand star came to town.

Read more
Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Senior district councillors have been speaking about the ‘shock’ parliamentary result that has changed the political landscape of the constituency.

Read more
Monday, May 11, 2015

Barnstaple family sets up video blog to document the life of baby Noah, who was born with spina bifida in January.

Read more
Friday, May 8, 2015

Newly-elected North Devon MP ‘humbled’ by result

Read more
Friday, May 8, 2015

Sir Nick Harvey pays tribute to the community that has supported him for the past 23 years as Peter Heaton-Jones sweeps to victory.

Read more
Thursday, May 7, 2015

Bell Inn customers have their say on who should be running the country with a spoof election.

Read more
Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Fire fighters called out to Mill Street in Bideford after fire broke out in the first and second floor flat of Mill Street building.

Within two hours fire fighters managed to get the blaze under control - more from the scene here...

Read more
Friday, May 1, 2015

David Cameron came out top in a snap poll following the last major TV event of the election campaign - but the majority of viewers said it would not change their mind on polling day.

Read more
Thursday, April 16, 2015

As Barnstaple mum Heather Walters finishes her treatment for breast cancer, the bras will be removed from Youings in Barnstaple today (Thursday).

Read more
Thursday, March 19, 2015

Will you see the partial solar eclipse tomorrow (Friday)? Or will there be too much cloud cover? Keep updated here.

Read more
Monday, March 16, 2015

Will you see the solar eclipse in North Devon? How do you view the eclipse safely? The North Devon Astronomical Society answers all your partial solar eclipse questions.

Read more
Thursday, February 12, 2015

Braunton singer songwriter Jim Jones is asking his fans to join him in bid to produce his new album through crowd funding.

Read more
Monday, February 2, 2015

British Transport Police have launched a campaign urging drivers and pedestrians not to flout the law at level crossings...

Read more
Wednesday, January 14, 2015

Pier House owner Rob Braddick donned a leotard in the comical video for St Austell Brewery - watch it here.

Read more
Monday, January 5, 2015

Celebrations saw Bideford Quay packed out with revellers to see in 2015 in style.

View our picture gallery and video of the world record congo-line attempt here.

Read more
Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Essence of the unique cobbled village of Clovelly is captured on film as part of Boat Stories series.

Read more
Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Could the mystery sea creature be a walking catfish from across the pond...?

Read more
Thursday, December 4, 2014

Bideford come from behind to beat Corby Town 2-1 in the Evo-Stik League Southern Premier Division.

Read more
Sunday, November 30, 2014

Bikers from as far as Cornwall travelled to Bideford Quay to deliver toys to Little Bridge House this morning (Sunday).

Read more
Monday, November 10, 2014

Events are held around the region for Remembrance Sunday and to mark the 100th anniversary of World War One and the 70th of D-Day.

Read more
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Platinum-record selling five-piece to top bill of live entertainment on Sunday, November 23.

Read more
Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Pilton Community College pupil chats to heart throb Kit Harington about his new film Testament of Youth.

Read more
Monday, October 27, 2014

Bideford’s ‘worst kept secret’ kicks off wicked week full of family-friendly half term activities.

Read more
Monday, September 1, 2014

The magnificent schooner sailed out of Bideford once more - but she could be back one day.

Read more
Friday, August 29, 2014

Nursery staff undertake the chilly challenge and invite the head of Ofsted to do the same.

Read more
Friday, August 8, 2014

Met Office warns remnants of Hurricane Bertha have a 60 per cent chance of hitting the South West.

Read more
Monday, July 21, 2014

Pupils and staff from Our Lady’s School take to the streets to celebrate the land of samba.

Read more
Sunday, July 6, 2014

Hundreds of women take part in emotional Barnstaple cancer fun run.

Read more
Monday, June 30, 2014

Coastguard crews and Sea King helicopter scrambled to late night call to rescue 40-year-old man.

Read more
Monday, May 26, 2014

Processions take to the streets over the weekend to celebrate the village’s rather unique spring bank holiday tradition...

Read more
Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Marine Conservation Society reassures bathers that porbeagle shark is most commonly found out ‘well out at sea’.

Read more
Tuesday, May 20, 2014

VIDEO: ‘You need a bigger boat’ as 450lb porbeagle caught by angling writer and photographer Graeme Pullen after an epic tussle.

Read more
Monday, May 19, 2014

Bideford AFC Youth coach’s contribution recognised with ‘community coach of the year’ and ‘outstanding contribution to sport’ awards

Read more
Tuesday, May 13, 2014

The 2014 Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials proved a challenge to competitors

Read more

Most Read

Local Weather

Partly Cloudy

Partly Cloudy

max temp: 15°C

min temp: 9°C

Useful Links

Advertise in the paper
Submit a Story
Subscribe to the paper
Competitions
North Devon Football League
Order Photos
Family notices
iwitness24
Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus Page
Reader Travel

Family Notices 24

Read Online

Image
Read the North Devon Gazette e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists

Local business directory

North Devon's trusted business finder

Find planning applications