New member takes a seat on district and parish councils

To send a link to this page to a friend, you must be logged in.

North Devon Council Fremington Ward by-election result

Neil Basil – The Green Party: 64

John Gill – Local Conservative: 308

Christopher Turner – Independent: 501

Anthony Wood – Independent: 196

NORTH Devon Council has a new independent councillor this morning (Friday).

The district by-election was held last night for Fremington Ward following the earlier resignation of Councillor Joanne Bell.

Christopher Turner has been elected as an independent councillor on the council.

The turnout for the district election was 29.99 per cent. A total of four papers were spoilt.

Mr Turner has also been elected onto the parish council for Fremington and Yelland Ward after he polled 663 votes against David Phipps (People Not Publicity – 370 votes).

A total of 34 papers were spoilt, with turnout at 29.83 per cent.

A by-election for a vacancy on South Molton Town Council was also held yesterday. This followed the earlier resignation of Councillor Sue Sewell.

Claire Alicia Parkinson (Retired – 229 votes) will sit on the council following her victory against

Una Ann Harley (Independent – 130 votes).

A total of four papers were classed as spoilt, with the turnout being nine per cent.


Join our newsletter

Local Search 24 – North Devon
Looking for a:


Search radius:

North Devon's trusted business directory